BLITZ Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year: Evan Prince

The crown belongs to Prince – Evan Prince. The Tallulah Falls senior paced himself physically this season, and picked his moments well. For one of Tallulah Falls’ most decorated runners, he grabs the long-awaited title of BLITZ Runner of the Year.


  • Region 8-A Private Champion
  • 1A Private State 3rd Place
  • 15:42 PR
  • 19th Place at Meet of Champions

Evan Prince earned a second straight Region Championship, was a career-best 3rd at state, and for a second consecutive season, got invited to the Meet of Champions, where he finished 19th. His PR of 15:42 may have come last season at the Asics Invitational, but this year he was only 2 seconds off that time in the same meet.


  1. Evan Prince – 60 pts (8 1st-place votes)
  2. Buck Ledford – 59 pts (7)
  3. Matthew Schroeder – 36 pts (1)
  4. Ethan Smith – 12.5 pts
  5. Peyton McClure – 13 pts
  6. Grady Sanders – 11.5 pts

Voting included our 16-person panel made up of sports reporters, writers, video producers, former coaches, players, GHSA officials, and sports experts. The voting is Heisman-style, with the following points system:
1st place votes: 5 pts; 2nd: 3 pts; 3rd: 2 pts; 4th: 1 pts; 5th-6th: 0.5 pts

This was one of the closest possible finishes in the voting, as Buck Ledford captured 7 first-place votes also, and had 2 more second-place votes than Prince. However, Prince slides by. Matthew Schroeder notched a first-place vote as well.


  • 2021 – Evan Prince – Tallulah Falls SR
  • 2020 – Brandon Martin – Commerce SR
  • 2019 – Griffin Stephens – Banks SR
  • 2018 – Guy Gober – Rabun SR
  • 2017 – Lance Underwood – Union SR
  • 2016 – Jacob Poston – Dawson SR
  • 2015 – Jacob Poston – Dawson JR
  • 2014 – Tyler Grimsley – Towns SO
  • 2013 – Dylan Forester – Dawson SR
  • 2012 – Dylan Johnson – Hayesville SR
  • 2011 – Dylan Johnson – Hayesville JR
  • 2010 – Brian Elder – Habersham SR
  • 2009 – Brian Elder – Habersham JR

Prince marks the sixth straight senior to claim Runner of the Year, and the first from Tallulah Falls. It’s worth noting that 8 of the all-time winners have been in lower classifications (1A-2A). Prince’s win ensures that in 2022, it will go to a 7th straight different athlete.



Subscribe to BLITZ Exclusive for just $5.99/month (cancel anytime)

POY Framed Print (11×17) – Evan Prince

POY Framed Print (11×17) – Evan Prince


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s