BLITZ Baseball Player of the Year – Brady Wilson

It’s a rarity to see a catcher/pitcher combo in high school ball. Let alone someone who gets it done on both sides at a high level. Right hander Brady Wilson earns BLITZ Baseball Player of the Year honors after a season that saw him carve up hitters from the bump and terrorize pitchers at the dish.


  • .534 AVG (39-for-73)
  • 2 HR, 19 RBI
  • 12 2B
  • Only 1 Strikeout
  • 1.390 OPS
  • 6-2, 3.81 ERA
  • 57 K in 44 IP

These numbers deserve a second look. Take another gander…73 at-bats registered (not plate appearances), and only ONE strikeout. That’s insane. It’s not as if he’s merely putting the ball in play…he’s hitting it hard, as evidenced by his .534 average and 14 extra-base hits. He registered an OPS of 1.390 with 2 HR and 19 RBI. What’s more, he was 6-2 for a team that made a long-awaited playoff run. The senior carried a 3.81 ERA and struck out 57 batters in 44 innings of work.


  1. Brady Wilson – 51 pts (8 1st-place votes)
  2. Rem Maxwell – 38.5 (5)
  3. Jake Johnson – 25
  4. Kane Goldman – 18
  5. Carson Worley – 14
  6. Zeke Swartz – 9.5

Wilson and Rem Maxwell split many 1st-place votes, though Wilson only received one vote 4th-6th place. The rest were top 3.

Voting included our 13-person panel made up of sports reporters, writers, video producers, former coaches, players, GHSA officials, and sports experts. The voting is Heisman-style, with the following points system:
1st place votes: 5 pts; 2nd: 3 pts; 3rd: 2 pts; 4th: 1 pts; 5th-6th: 0.5 pts


  • 2021 – Brady Wilson – Rabun County SR C/P
  • 2020 – Hudson Sapp – Dawson County SR OF/P
  • 2019 – Hudson Sapp – Dawson County JR OF/P
  • 2018 – Palmer Sapp – Dawson County SR SS/P
  • 2017 – Kooper Briley – Stephens County SR SS
  • 2016 – Tucker Maxwell – Dawson County SR OF
  • 2015 – Joseph Mancuso – Union County JR P/1B
  • 2014 – Spencer Adams – White County SR P/SS
  • 2013 – Brett Westmoreland – White County SR 1B
  • 2012 – Zach Wall – Hayesville JR P/SS
  • 2011 – David Sosebee – White County SR P/3B
  • 2010 – David Sosebee – White County JR P/3B

Wilson is the first Rabun County player to claim the award, and the very first catcher to do it.


A glut of talent rolls off the books for next year, as Wilson and finalists Goldman, Maxwell, and Swartz are all graduating. The two finalists returning that will be looked at as favorites for next season are Jake Johnson (White County) and Carson Worley (Stephens County), as both will be seniors. We really like Dawson County’s Nick Mullinax too as a candidate.

POY Framed Print (11×17) – Brady Wilson

POY Framed Print (11×17) – Brady Wilson


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s