BLITZ Volleyball Player of the Year – Katy Corbett

Domination! That’s Katy Corbett, who takes the BLITZ Volleyball Player of the Year award back-to-back. It comes after the recent Mercer beach volleyball signee polished off her senior season with a fantastic stat line that included taking her Lady Indians team to a sixth straight playoff appearance and second Sweet 16 in the last 3 years.


  • 303 Kills
  • 327 Digs
  • 36 Aces
  • 16 Assists
  • 7 Blocks

Corbett put up an incredible stat line, and the senior outside hitter leaves Tallulah Falls School as the all-time leader in kills and digs, and holds the single-season and single-game records in those categories as well. While she had more kills (350), digs (370), and aces (40) last season when also winning Player of the Year, she was on pace to blow those numbers away in what was a schedule in 2020 that featured 8 fewer matches.


  1. Katy Corbett – 58.5 pts (8 1st-place votes)
  2. Madeline Koshuta – 46.5 pts (4)
  3. Makenzie Caldwell – 29 pts (3)
  4. Maddie Grace Smith – 25 pts (1)
  5. Dasha Cannon – 19 pts
  6. Sarah Jennings – 14 pts

Voting included our 16-person panel made up of sports reporters, writers, video producers, former coaches, players, GHSA officials, and sports experts. The voting is Heisman-style, with the following points system:
1st place votes: 5 pts; 2nd: 3 pts; 3rd: 2 pts; 4th: 1 pts; 5th-6th: 0.5 pts

Corbett won over most of the voters, though the love was spread out with 4 different players receiving a first-place vote.


  • 2020 – Katy Corbett – Tallulah Falls SR OH
  • 2019 – Katy Corbett – Tallulah Falls JR OH
  • 2018 – JoJo Smith – Jefferson SO OH
  • 2017 – Katerina Shalikashvili – Habersham SR OH
  • 2016 – Lainey Gosnell – Habersham SR MH
  • 2015 – Lainey Gosnell – Habersham JR OH
  • 2014 – Chaselin Allen – Habersham SR L
  • 2013 – Caeli Chambers – Habersham SR L
  • 2012 – Haley Gerrin – Habersham SR MH
  • 2011 – Haley Gerrin – Habersham JR MH
  • 2010 – Alexia Wilson – Lumpkin JR MH
  • 2009 – Megan Rowland – Habersham SR OH

Corbett is the first repeat winner since Habersham’s Lainey Gosnell (’15-16) and the third ever to repeat as winner. Outside hitters rule in this award, taking the honors 6 times.


It starts with Madeline Koshuta, who was very close to topping Katy Corbett this time around. Koshuta, along with Maddie Grace Smith and Sarah Jennings, are the lone returners next year from this group of finalists. Gracie Deetz from Rabun has a shot, as do a number of other standouts from various programs that were on the cusp this season.

POY Framed Print (11×17) – Katy Corbett 2020

POY Framed Print (11×17) – Katy Corbett 2020


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s