Baseball Player of the Year: Hudson Sapp

Make it back-to-back for the BLITZ Baseball Player of the Year award going to a Sapp…this time it’s Hudson, brother of last year’s Palmer Sapp. Hudson, an Ole Miss commit, bullied the baseball this season and proved to be an almost impossible out.

2019 By The Numbers

  • .582 AVG (39 hits), 6 HR, 22 RBI
  • 11 2B, 3 3B, 37 R, 23 BB, 27 SB
  • .696 OBP, 1.775 SLG
  • 2-1, 0.45 ERA, 30 K, 15.2 IP
  • 6 Outfield Assists

These numbers are just unheard of…and it starts with that 1.775 Slugging Percentage, .696 OBP, and a .582 AVG. Pitchers hated to face Hudson Sapp, as evidenced by his 23 walks. He made them pay, swiping 27 stolen bases and scoring 37 times.

He still got his though. In 2019, Sapp collected 39 hits, 20 of which went for extra bases. He had 6 homers and 22 RBI, 11 doubles, and 3 triples. Oh, and he pitches, too. In limited action on the mound (15.2 innings), he struck out 30 batters (almost 2 per inning), going 2-1 with a 0.45 ERA. In the outfield he showed off his arm with 6 outfield assists.

Voting Results

  1. Hudson Sapp – 66 pts (8 first-place votes)
  2. Alex McFarlane – 62.5 pts (6)
  3. Lane Watkins – 54.5 pts (4)
  4. Peyton Irvin – 20.5 pts (1)
  5. Colby Rogers – 13 pts
  6. Davis Swenson – 11 pts

Voting included our 19-person panel made up of sports reporters, writers, video producers, former coaches, players, GHSA officials, and sports experts. The voting is Heisman-style, with the following points system:
1st place votes: 5 pts; 2nd: 3 pts; 3rd: 2 pts; 4th: 1 pts; 5th-6th: 0.5 pts; 7th: 0.25 pts; 8th: 0 pts

History of Baseball Player of the Year

  • 2019: Hudson Sapp (Dawson JR OF)
  • 2018: Palmer Sapp (Dawson SR SS/P)
  • 2017: Kooper Briley (Stephens SR SS)
  • 2016: Tucker Maxwell (Dawson SR OF)
  • 2015: Joseph Mancuso (Union JR P/1B)
  • 2014: Spencer Adams (White SR P/SS)
  • 2013: Brett Westmoreland (White SR 1B)
  • 2012: Zach Wall (Hayesville JR P/SS)
  • 2011: David Sosebee (White SR P/3B)
  • 2010: David Sosebee (White JR P/3B)

Sapp is the third Dawson player in the last four seasons to win the award, following his brother Palmer, and Tucker Maxwell in 2016. He is the first underclassmen to claim it since Joseph Mancuso did in 2015. Remarkably, this award has never gone to anyone other than a junior or senior, and Sapp is only the second outfielder to win it.

Looking Ahead – The Next Favorite

Sapp obviously is the front-runner going into 2020. However, others are at his heels, including Colby Rogers of Commerce, the only other finalist that will return next year. Sapp, a DI-commit (Ole Miss), beat out fellow DI players Alex McFarlane (Miami) and Lane Watkins (UGA) in a star-studded group in 2019.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s