Girls Tennis Player of the Year: Ginevra Gradassi

Jefferson’s senior Ginevra Gradassi was as good as any in the state of Georgia in 2019, leading the Lady Dragons to a dominating season that culminated in a region title and Sweet 16 berth. Gradassi’s performance earned her Player of the Year honors.

2019 By The Numbers

  • 18-2 Record
  • 8-AAA Player of the Year
  • 3A State Sweet 16
  • Region 8-AAA Champions

Gradassi answered the call time and again for Jefferson. She finished her senior season with an 18-2 record, which made for an easy decision as Region 8-AAA’s Player of the Year.

Voting Results

  1. Ginevra Gradassi – 88 pts (16 first-place votes)
  2. Izzy Kinard – 45.5 pts (1)
  3. Chloe Smith – 35 pts
  4. Jaden Hoard – 20.5 pts (1)
  5. Tyler Perry – 20.5 pts (1)

Voting included our 19-person panel made up of sports reporters, writers, video producers, former coaches, players, GHSA officials, and sports experts. The voting is Heisman-style, with the following points system:
1st place votes: 5 pts; 2nd: 3 pts; 3rd: 2 pts; 4th: 1 pts; 5th-6th: 0.5 pts; 7th: 0.25 pts; 8th: 0 pts

History of Girls Tennis Player of the Year

  • 2019: Ginevra Gradassi (Jefferson SR #1 Singles)
  • 2018: Chloe Smith (Banks FR #1 Singles)
  • 2017: Hallie Reeves (Rabun SR #1 Singles)
  • 2016: Savanna Scott (Rabun JR #2 Singles)
  • 2015: Savanna Scott (Rabun SO #2 Singles)
  • 2014: Brittany Stewart (Lumpkin SR #1 Singles)
  • 2013: Brittany Stewart (Lumpkin JR #1 Singles)
  • 2012: Kayla Olin/Eryn Cochran (Towns JR/SO #1 Doubles)
  • 2011: Ginny Rhoades (Towns SR #2 Singles)
  • 2010: Abby Brown/Claire Stovall (Habersham SR #1 Doubles)

Gradassi is Jefferson’s first recipient of the award. This award, which has gone to a doubles combo twice, and to a #2 singles player three times, doesn’t always go to the top singles player. In this case, Gradassi was a near-unanimous decision with 16 first-place votes out of a possible 19.

Looking Ahead – The Next Favorite

With Gradassi graduating, as well as Lumpkin’s Izzy Kinard, that really appears to leave a big battle for last year’s Player of the Year Chloe Smith and teammate Jaden Hoard to make another run at it. Others will also elbow their room into the argument.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s