Softball Player of the Year: Jaycie Bowen

Jaycie Bowen’s 2017 season nearly earned her the honors as BLITZ Player of the Year, but she finished third in the voting. 2018 was a different story, as her average increased by 45 points, her homerun total by 9, RBI total by 9, and walk total by 13.

Needless to say, it was a monster year for the Banks County senior first baseman/pitcher, as Bowen led the Lady Leopards to the Class 2A State Championship game in Columbus.

Jaycie Bowen (SR 1B/P #22) earned the POY honors after a historic season for her and the Lady Leopards. Bowen smashed 11 homers, drove in 44 runs, had a .550 average and scored 32 runs, all while slugging a ridiculous 1.009.

2018 By the Numbers

  • .550 AVERAGE
  • 11 HR
  • 44 RBI
  • 32 RUNS
  • 16 2B, 1 3B
  • 22 BB, 4 SB
  • 4-2, 1.56 ERA, 39 K

By any means, Bowen was one of the top hitters across the state in any class, much less Class 2A. Ironically, teammate and junior Tybee Denton, who was also a finalist for Player of the Year, also had exactly 11 HR and 44 RBI. For Bowen, the .550 average also included 22 walks, a .625 OBP, and 1.009 SLG percentage.

Bowen is also a star basketball player, as she is a Georgia College commit and currently starting her senior season leading the Banks County girls team on the hardwood.

Voting Results

  1. Jaycie Bowen – 100 Voting pts (17 first place votes)
  2. Tybee Denton – 55.5 pts (1)
  3. Emily Perrin – 44 pts (4)
  4. Sam Vinson – 26 pts
  5. Paige Cook – 24 pts
  6. Emma Whitfield – 14.5 pts

Voting included our 22-person panel made up of sports reporters, writers, video producers, former coaches, players, GHSA officials, and sports experts. The voting is Heisman-style, with the following points system:
1st place votes: 5 pts; 2nd: 3 pts; 3rd: 2 pts; 4th: 1 pts; 5th-6th: 0.5 pts

History of Softball POY

  • 2018 – Jaycie Bowen – Banks Co SR
  • 2017 – Jessica Morgan – White Co SR
  • 2016 – Paige Cook- Habersham SO & Emma Whitfield – Stephens Co SO
  • 2015 – Laken Chambers – Union Co JR
  • 2014 – Jessica Morgan – White Co FR & Laken Chambers – Union Co SO
  • 2013 – Georgia Webb – Habersham SR
  • 2012 – Jenna Abbott – Dawson Co SR
  • 2011 – Angie Hughes – Union Co SR
  • 2010 – Stephanie Satterfield – White Co SR
  • 2009 – Stephanie Satterfield – White Co JR

Bowen is the first Banks County player to win the award and the second straight senior to win it, which means 2019 will feature another new face.

Looking Ahead – the Next Favorite(s)

This finalist group consisted of three BLITZ Players of the Year, as both Paige Cook and Emma Whitfield had won the award a couple of years ago. Bowen, Cook, and Whitfield all move on, as do the Jefferson finalists, Sam Vinson and Emily Perrin. Tybee Denton, Bowen’s teammate, is a junior and put up similar offensive numbers to Bowen this season, and had a 1.77 ERA and 341 strikeouts in the circle. Safe to say that if she plays that way next year, she won’t be runner-up to anyone.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s