Boys Cross Country Runner of the Year: Guy Gober

In less than six months, Rabun County’s Guy Gober claimed three state championships. Back in May, he finished out his junior year with a pair of titles in track & field with a 1600 and 3200 championship. Fast forward to November, and Gober once again earned more hardware to crowd his trophy case.

The senior raced his final cross country meet on a cold November Saturday, and did so in fashion with an individual state title in Class 2A.

Rabun County senior Guy Gober now has three individual state championships to his credit after winning the 2A Cross Country title earlier in November.

2018 By the Numbers

  • PR: 16:37
  • 3X STATE TOP-10

Gober’s annual improvement has been impressive. After finishing third as a freshman in the region, he claimed the individual top spot the next three seasons. That freshman 2015 season saw him finish 31st in the state meet, but he improved to 6th overall as a sophomore, 5th as a junior, and finally the state champion in 2018.

Gober, as mentioned, is also a two-time state champ in long distance track & field, so no doubt this isn’t the end of his recognition.

Voting Results

  1. Guy Gober – 87 voting pts (14 1st-place votes)
  2. Riley Thornton – 59.5 pts (5)
  3. Ben McGinnis – 43 pts (3)
  4. Griffin Stephens – 31.5 pts
  5. Brandon Martin – 31 pts
  6. Eamonn O’Bryant – 12 pts

Voting included our 22-person panel made up of sports reporters, writers, video producers, former coaches, players, GHSA officials, and sports experts. The voting is Heisman-style, with the following points system:
1st place votes: 5 pts; 2nd: 3 pts; 3rd: 2 pts; 4th: 1 pts; 5th-6th: 0.5 pts

History of Boys CC ROY

  • 2018 – Guy Gober – Rabun Co SR
  • 2017 – Lance Underwood – Union Co SR
  • 2016 – Jacob Poston – Dawson Co SR
  • 2015 – Jacob Poston – Dawson Co JR
  • 2014 – Tyler Grimsley – Towns Co SO
  • 2013 – Dylan Forester – Dawson Co SR
  • 2012 – Dylan Johnson – Hayesville SR
  • 2011 – Dylan Johnson – Hayesville JR
  • 2010 – Brian Elder – Habersham SR
  • 2009 – Brian Elder – Habersham JR

Gober is the first from Rabun to claim this award and the third straight senior to earn it. Of all previous winners, however, Gober is the only one to win the individual state championship.

Looking Ahead – the Next Favorite(s)

This finalist group contained just one senior, and that was Gober. All the rest will be back next year. Riley Thornton and Ben McGinnis are the early favorites should they repeat or improve on their performances, and the same for Griffin Stephens, who was on the heels of Gober all season.

One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s