BLITZ Golfers of the Year – Catie Craig & Maggie Jackson

There were arguably no better golfers in the state than both Catie Craig and Maggie Jackson. Both were superb in 2021, both ranked in the top six in the state as individuals, and both took their teams to incredible heights this season. It’s only fitting that the tie in voting leads to both being Golfers of the Year!


  • Catie Craig – Region Champ & State Runner-Up; 35.5 9-hole AVG; 71 18-hole AVG
  • Maggie Jackson – Area Champ & State 4th; 37.5 9-hole AVG; 75.12 18-hole AVG; 4 Low Medalists

Craig and Jackson both won their area/region championship individually and as a team. Craig was tied for the lead in the state tournament heading into the final round, and finished as runner-up. Jackson was fourth, just a couple strokes from a runner-up spot herself. The duo posted low averages on 9- and 18-holes, and broke multiple school records throughout the season.


  1. Maggie Jackson – 46 pts (7 1st-place votes) & Catie Craig – 46 (5)
  2. Cameron Ford – 21.5
  3. Brinson Hall – 19
  4. Selah Anderson – 14.5 (1)
  5. Sofia McNabb – 9

Jackson tabbed the most 1st-place votes, but Craig had only votes cast between 1st-3rd, while Jackson had a few 4th-5th to give the same voting score. Selah Anderson also logged a 1st-place vote.

Voting included our 13-person panel made up of sports reporters, writers, video producers, former coaches, players, GHSA officials, and sports experts. The voting is Heisman-style, with the following points system:
1st place votes: 5 pts; 2nd: 3 pts; 3rd: 2 pts; 4th: 1 pts; 5th-6th: 0.5 pts; 7th-8th: 0.25 pts


  • 2021 – Catie Craig – White County SR & Maggie Jackson – Tallulah Falls SR
  • 2020 – Catie Craig – White County JR
  • 2019 – Catie Craig – White County SO
  • 2018 – Caroline Craig – White County JR & Catie Craig – White County FR
  • 2017 – Caroline Craig – White County SO
  • 2016 – Maddie Horinek – Union County JR & Ally Horinek – Union County SO
  • 2015 – Madison Caldwell – Dawson County SR
  • 2014 – Madison Caldwell – Dawson County JR
  • 2013 – Madison Caldwell – Dawson County SO
  • 2012 – Cara Gowder – Banks County JR
  • 2011 – Morgan Wood – Lumpkin County JR
  • 2010 – Morgan Wood – Lumpkin County SO

This marks the 3rd time there has been a tie awarded for Golfer of the Year, and Craig twice has been involved in that. It also marks the second time ever in any sport we have a 4-peat, as Craig has won it every season. The other incident was another White County great, Jenna Gearing, winning 4 cross country awards in a row. A Craig sister has been part of this award for the last 5 years. Jackson, meanwhile, makes for the first TFS golfer to win the award.


This might have been the best golfing pool of talent we’ve seen, as Craig, Jackson, Brinson Hall, Cameron Ford, and Selah Anderson all graduate. Near-finalists Erin Dorsey (White) and Kristin Tash (Commerce) also graduate. The lone finalist returning will be the freshman McNabb. Other than that, this award is free for the taking next year.

POY Framed Print (11×17) – Catie Craig

POY Framed Print (11×17) – Catie Craig


POY Framed Print (11×17) – Maggie Jackson

POY Framed Print (11×17) – Maggie Jackson


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s