Girls Basketball Player of the Year – Isabel Davenport

When you put in the time, it’s bound to come to fruition. Isabel Davenport has no doubt put in the countless hours of shooting and fine-tuning her craft on the way to earning BLITZ Player of the Year honors.


  • 17.0 PTS
  • 4.4 REB
  • 4.1 AST
  • 2.9 STL
  • 1,000 Career Points

In a season that saw the junior guard eclipse 1,000 career points and earn Player of the Year honors in Region 7-AAA, Davenport led the Lady Indians to their first state playoff run in over a decade. Davenport went off for 17 points, 4.4 boards, 4.1 assists, and 2.9 steals per contest in 2019-20.

Those numbers are significantly higher than last season, when as a sophomore she burst on the scene with 14.1 pts, 4 reb, 2.9 ast, and 2.1 stl on average. It begs the question – how good will she be next season?

2019 Bob & Teds GIF


  1. Isabel Davenport – 83 pts (10 1st-place votes)
  2. Livi Blackstock – 76 pts (8)
  3. Ava Hunter – 43.5 pts (2)
  4. Marlie Townley – 25.5 pts (2)
  5. Dasha Cannon – 19.8 pts
  6. Laken Stiles – 12 pts
  7. Nada Eades – 9.75 pts

This was TIGHT! We almost had a tie and dual POY winners, as Jefferson’s Livi Blackstock collected very similar votes as Davenport did. Four of the finalists collected at least two 1st-place votes.

Voting included our 22-person panel made up of sports reporters, writers, video producers, former coaches, players, GHSA officials, and sports experts. The voting is Heisman-style, with the following points system:
1st place votes: 5 pts; 2nd: 3 pts; 3rd: 2 pts; 4th: 1 pts; 5th-6th: 0.5 pts


2019-20 – Isabel Davenport – Lumpkin Co JR G
2018-19 – Kaylee Sticker – Dawson Co SR G/F
2017-18 – Georgia Stockton – Rabun Co JR G
2016-17 – Lainey Gosnell – Habersham Central SR F
2015-16 – Karlie Bearden – Dawson Co SR G/F & Lainey Gosnell – Habersham Central JR F
2014-15 – Kaitlyn Duncan – Banks Co SR C
2013-14 – Sheyenne Seabolt – Dawson Co JR F
2012-13 – Carly Gilreath – Dawson Co SR G & Stephanie Patton – Towns Co SO G
2011-12 – Haley Gerrin – Habersham Central SR C
2010-11 – Gabby Arencibia – Towns Co JR G
2009-10 – Cara Malone – Lumpkin Co SR G

Davenport is the first Lumpkin player since Cara Malone back in ’09-10 (10 years ago) to win the award. Worth noting also that she becomes the sixth girl to win as an underclassman; however, only once has an underclassman won and then repeated the following year (Lainey Gosnell).


The girls hoops scene is LOADED! Take a look – of the 7 finalists, 5 will return in 2020-21. Since Davenport won it this time, it’s hers to lose. Livi Blackstock though is right there and both will be considered the favorites. So will Ava Hunter (Union), Dasha Cannon (White), Deshona Gaither (Jefferson), Maddie Anglin (Dawson), and Nada Eades (Stephens). Other early candidates include Kate Jackson (Lumpkin), Gracie Deetz (Rabun), Kirklyn Porter (Dawson), Addie Penick (Habersham), Kennedi Henson (Towns), Denkika Lightbourne & Katy Corbett (Tallulah Falls), Bryanna Sanders (Commerce), and anyone from Stephens County. See what we mean? LOADED!

11×14 Framed Print – Isabel Davenport POY

11x14 Framed Print - Isabel Davenport POY



One comment

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s