Dawson’s Sonnichsen, Hernon, Bonesteel lead Tigers in All-Region recognition

The All-Region 7-AAA honorees were named, and it revealed what we already knew – Dawson County has a multitude of talent.

Dakohta Sonnichsen (JR) was named Athlete of the Year, while Riley Herndon (SR) was named Defensive Player of the Year (MVP), and Caleb Bonesteel (JR) was honored as Special Teams Player of the Year.

Among the 1st-Team All-Region members were SO QB Zach Holtzclaw, SO WR Jaden Gibson, and defensive stalwarts DJ Mitchell (LB), Brody Howell (DB), and Breadon Hubbard (DB).

Making 2nd-Team All-Region were: Seth Adams (OL), Cade Adams (OL), Bryson Broadway (OL), Shawn Thomas (RB), Bryce Bryant (DL), Will Glaze (LB), Daniel Brock (LB), and Isaiah Grindle (ATH).

The Tigers went 8-4 on the way to a third straight second-round appearance at state, and for the fourth straight season, were ranked inside the Top-10 during the year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s