Boys Track & Field Athlete of the Year: Eli Morris

Eli Morris is one of the best. If you don’t believe that, consider the schools that are beggin for his services: Mississippi State, Syracuse, Indiana, Baylor, and many others. This year, he proved that no hurdler comes close to him in the state – he won two titles.

2019 By The Numbers

  • State Champion in 110 MH
  • State Champion in 300 MH
  • Region Champion in 110 & 300 MH
  • State Runner-Up in 4×100 Relay
  • State 5th in 4×400 Relay
  • PR in 110 MH (13.63) & 300 MH (37.67)

Eli Morris has made a name for himself. He brought home a pair of individual state titles, taking the top spot in the 110- and 300 meter hurdles. He won both at the region meet as well. To add to it, he was on the 4×100 relay (second leg runner) that won the region and was state runner-up, and part of the 5th-place 4×400 team (first leg runner). Not to mention his performance helped lift the Dragons to a team championship in class 3A.

It was a great progression for Morris, who didn’t make it out of the prelims last year at state in the 110 MH, and came in 7th overall in the 300 MH. His 300 MH time of 37.67 in this year’s win was his all-time personal best, and he set a new PR in the 110 MH earlier this season at 13.63. He dominated competition, getting to the line almost a full second ahead in the 110 meter, and…get this…a mind-boggling two-plus seconds ahead of second place in the 300 meter.

Some college will be lucky to get his services for the next four years.

Voting Results

  1. Eli Morris – 84 pts (15 first-place votes)
  2. Tucker Flint – 59 pts (4)
  3. Wes Ledford – 34 pts
  4. Dajuan Wood – 32 pts

Voting included our 19-person panel made up of sports reporters, writers, video producers, former coaches, players, GHSA officials, and sports experts. The voting is Heisman-style, with the following points system:
1st place votes: 5 pts; 2nd: 3 pts; 3rd: 2 pts; 4th: 1 pts; 5th-6th: 0.5 pts; 7th: 0.25 pts; 8th: 0 pts

History of Boys T&F Athlete of the Year

  • 2019: Eli Morris (Jefferson SR Hurdles)
  • 2018: Guy Gober (Rabun JR Distance)
  • 2017: Zatrick Pearce (Tallulah Falls SR Sprint/Jump)
  • 2016: Jay Acker (Commerce SR Vault/Throw)
  • 2015: Austin Pierce (Lumpkin SR Sprint)
  • 2014: Charlie Woerner (Rabun SO Throw/Hurdles)
  • 2013: DiKerrio Ramsey (Commerce SR Jump)
  • 2012: Jocquise Lloyd (Hayesville SR Jump/Sprint)
  • 2011: Taylor Guthrie (Lumpkin SR Jump)
  • 2010: Andrew Seay (Habersham Central SR Throw)

Morris the first Jefferson athlete to win it, and took 16 of the 19 first-place votes in the process. He is the second hurdler to ever win, following Charlie Woerner in 2014.

Looking Ahead – The Next Favorite

Your guess is as good as ours at this point…all the finalists depart as they are all graduating. Jefferson and Commerce are loaded with talent though, and Banks and Dawson also have plenty of people that can take this spot next year.

Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s